What is Runpod?
Runpod is a cloud platform for AI workloads. Its core product is GPU compute: Pods are dedicated on-demand GPU instances deployed across 31 global regions, Serverless runs API-based inference on GPU endpoints that autoscale and cost nothing when idle, and Clusters provide multi-node GPUs for distributed training.
Users can spin up a GPU environment in under a minute, bring their own containers, frameworks and code, and deploy open-source models and templates from the Hub. The Serverless service queues and distributes requests, handles failover and provides real-time logs and metrics. Typical uses include serving models in real time, training and fine-tuning, deploying AI agents, and running compute-heavy batch jobs.
Key features
- On-demand GPU pods across 31 global regions with 30+ GPU types
- Serverless GPU endpoints that autoscale from zero to thousands of workers
- Multi-node GPU clusters for distributed AI workloads
- Hub of open-source AI models and templates for one-click deployment
- Persistent network storage and Global Volumes for model weights
- Real-time logs, monitoring and metrics
Who is it for
- AI developers and ML engineers
- Companies serving AI inference in production
- Teams fine-tuning and training models
- Enterprises needing reserved GPU capacity
Pros and cons
- Sub-200ms cold starts and zero idle cost on Serverless
- Wide GPU selection, from RTX 4090 to B300, with per-second billing
- Managed orchestration and failover reduce infrastructure work
- Reserved capacity and contract pricing require talking to sales
- Prices shown are per hour and vary by GPU type and cloud tier
Runpod pricing
| Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Pods - H100 SXM (Secure Cloud) | 3.49 USD / month | Per hour, 80 GB VRAM, billed per second |
| Pods - H200 (Secure Cloud) | 4.59 USD / month | Per hour, 141 GB VRAM |
| Pods - B200 (Secure Cloud) | 6.79 USD / month | Per hour, 180 GB VRAM |
| Pods - B300 (Secure Cloud) | 7.89 USD / month | Per hour, 288 GB HBM3e |
| Pods - RTX 4090 (Community Cloud) | 0.74 USD / month | Per hour, 24 GB VRAM |
| Pods - A100 PCIe (Community Cloud) | 1.59 USD / month | Per hour, 80 GB VRAM |
Prices copied from Runpod pricing, checked October 12, 2026. Currency as shown by the vendor; taxes may apply.
Is Runpod free?
There is a free trial. Sign-up is free to get started; the page does not specify free credits or a free compute tier.
Runpod alternatives
| Tool | Price from | Free plan | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| not listed | ? | APIs & models | |
| 29 USD/mo | yes | APIs & models | |
| not listed | yes | APIs & models | |
| 20 USD/mo | yes | APIs & models | |
| od 0,20 USD | ? | APIs & models | |
| 2 USD input / 10 USD output | no | APIs & models |
FAQ
What is Runpod used for?
Cloud platform renting on-demand GPUs, serverless inference endpoints and multi-node clusters for AI developers and teams.
Is Runpod free?
There is a free trial. Sign-up is free to get started; the page does not specify free credits or a free compute tier.
How much does Runpod cost?
The cheapest paid plan is 0.74 USD/mo (vendor pricing, October 12, 2026).
What are the best Runpod alternatives?
Closest alternatives: Groq, Langfuse, Cline, Ollama, Amazon Bedrock.
Data checked October 12, 2026 on the vendor website (runpod.io).
