Side by side
| Feature | OpenAI Platform | Replicate |
|---|---|---|
| What it does | Developer platform for building applications with the OpenAI API, aimed at software developers. | Cloud API for running open-source and proprietary AI models (image, video, audio, LLMs) with one line of code, billed per use. |
| Price from | 0,10 USD | 0.025 USD |
| Free plan | ? | trial |
| Platforms | api, web | api, web |
| API | yes | yes |
OpenAI Platform: key features
- Sign-in with email, Google, Apple, Microsoft or phone
- Developer documentation for getting started with the API
- API Reference with endpoints and parameters
- Starter Apps built with the API
- Cookbooks with practical examples and best practices
Replicate: key features
- Run thousands of open-source and proprietary models through a single API
- Client libraries for Node, Python and plain HTTP
- Image generation and editing, including multi-image fusion and conversational edits
- Video generation from text or images, with up to 30-second clips in some models
- Fine-tuning and deployment of custom models with Cog
- Dedicated GPU hardware for private models with automatic scaling
FAQ
Is OpenAI Platform or Replicate better?
It depends on the job - compare prices, free plans and features in the table above.
Are OpenAI Platform and Replicate free?
OpenAI Platform: The vendor does not state this clearly on the homepage or pricing page. Replicate: There is a free trial. A 'Try for free' option is offered on the homepage; the text does not specify the free allowance.